HOME | TACKLETOUR FORUMS  | EDITOR'S CHOICE | REVIEW ARCHIVE | ABOUT US | 

Latest ArticlesReels | Rods | Lines | Lures | Terminal Tackle | Tools | Storage | Watercraft | Apparel | Fly | Enthusiast | Interviews | Events | Maintenance | Autopsy

Hot Articles


Complete list of all current ICAST 2014 coverage
---------------
Glide Week : Riding the S-Wave!
---------------
Abu Garcia Raises the Speed Bar with their Rocket!
---------------
Daiwa’s Steez EX 100XS offers a Deadly Combination of Both Speed and Precision
---------------

First look inside the new Curado I baitcaster
 


 


Enthusiast Review


A Cranky Finesse Stick With Power: The Megabass F3 1/2-65GTC Hien Type-S
 

Date: 12/09/07
Tackle type: Rod
Manufacturer: Megabass
Reviewer: Cal






Total Score: 9.08


Introduction: As part of their 2006 lineup, Megabass introduced a set of graphite cranking sticks to supplement their already successful fiberglass cranking line, the Tomahawk GT3. We've spent a full year getting to know one of the rods from this lineup and as with most products from this company, the more we use it, the more it reveals itself to us. Presenting our impressions of the Megabass F3 1/2-65GTC Hien Type-S.


Megabass F3 1/2-65GTC Hien Type-S Specifications

Material Hi-10X Graphite
Length 6'-5"
Length from Back of Reel Seat to Base 8.5"
Line Wt. 5-16lb
Lure Wt. 3/16 - 5/8 oz
Pieces one
Guides 8 + Tip (Fuji Ti/SiC - Spiral Wrapped)
Power Rating Medium
Taper Fast
Rod Weight 4.5 ounces
Manufacturing Country Japan
MSRP $400

 

Impressions: As if we needed more confusion with the Megabass model numbers, the Hien Type-S is in the newly formed Tomahawk GTC line, as opposed to the Tomahawk GT3. This new line consists of three different models, but each of these models is available with two different colored reel seats - at least this was the case last year when we placed the order for the Hien Type-S. This may or may not have changed for 2007 so if it is important to you, be sure to check the availability of this option with your retailer. Confused? Exactly.

 

Introducing the Megabass F3 1/2-65GTC Hien Type-S


Lab Tests: Of course, what really counts is the stick itself. The Hien Type-S, at 6'-5", is a shorter version of the Hien GTC which is specified at 6'-10". Judging by their 2007 hard copy product catalog, it appears Megabass may have simply moved the F3-610X base Destroyer Hien over into the Tomahawk GTC line and updated it's grip treatment. The last remaining Tomahawk GTC rod is the F4-65GTC Kaede. So just how does the Hien Type-S stack up to some of the other rods in our vault? We strapped it up to our RoD WRACK to find out.

 

Lab Results for Megabass F3 1/2-65GTC Hien Type-S

Model
Avg RoD (2-32oz)
Rated Action
Spine
Measured Weight
Balance Point
F3 1/2-65GTC Hien Type-S
2.33
Fast
Bottom
4.5 oz
6"
F4-610XDti Elseil
1.97
Medium Fast
Bottom
5.3 oz
5.5"
G.Loomis MBR842C GLX
1.99
Fast
Bottom
4 oz
8.5"

Rate of Deflection (RoD): What we found was that, between the load ranges of 2 to 8 ounces, our Hien Type-S demonstrates a very soft tip similar, in some respects, to the G.Loomis MBR782C GLX. Beyond that load range, however, the rod firms up and the backbone takes over. At about 16 ounces the rod's behavior is more inline with the G.Loomis MBR842C GLX and F4-610XDti Elseil. The Hien Type-S sets up so well into its backbone that we question Megabass's rating of this rod as fast taper stick. We feel it's closer to an extra-fast rod which would be more in line with the former F3-610X (The F3-610GTC is also rated as a fast tapered stick). More on this later.

Fig. 1 : This RoD Deflection Chart shows the deflection characteristics of our Hien Type-S stacked up against the Elseil, G.Loomis MBR842C GLX and MBR782C GLX (partial curve).


Spine, Weight, and Balance Point: The spine of our Hien Type-S came out on bottom and its balance point at about six inches up the rod from the center of the reel seat with no reel mounted on the rod. The balance point isn't great, but combined with the rod's weight at 4.5 ounces, it works out quite well and doesn't really feel tip heavy at all. We found the rod's spine at the bottom and there's no issue with line coming in contact with the blank because the Hien Type-S features spiral wound guides (spiraled to the left).

 

The F3 1/2-65GTC Hien Type-S is rated as with a fast taper but feels more like an extra-fast.
 

The spiral guide configuration of our Hien Type-S


Real World Test: Marketed as a cranking stick for small to mid sized cranks, what better reel to match on our Hien Type-S than my absolute favorite reel for small to medium sized cranks, the Shimano Conquest 51. I've owned this reel for close to five years now and actually have two in my arsenal and the smile that comes across my face each time I use it is just as broad as the first time I palmed it. Matching it with the Hien Type-S makes a fabulous combination.


The Conquest 51 is a fantastic match for this rod
 

Complete Field Test Set-Up for Megabass F3 1/2-65GTC Hien Type-S

Reel(s)
Shimano Conquest 51
Daiwa Pixy
Line
12lb Sunline Machine Gun Cast
10lb Sunline Shooter FC


Pitching and Casting: With its soft tip, the Hien Type-S has no trouble loading with baits throughout its rated range of 3/16ths to 5/8ths of an ounce. Paired with the Conquest 51, I used a variety of moving baits including the Luhr Jensen Speedtrap, Sworming Hornet Fish Head Spin, and the Megabass Bullet Shad Mini spinnerbait. This rod handled all those baits just fine.

 

Talk about a mix mush of colors and textures, but you know what? Hold it in your hand and it just works.

For a bit more of a challenge, I changed things up a bit and paired the Hien Type-S with a supertuned Daiwa Pixy (a.k.a. the Pixzilla) and used this combo with plastics casting split shot and shakey head rigs. This rod handled the casting and pitching duties of these baits fine as well.

The faux-jade reel seat, reminiscent of our previously reviewed F6-69X Super Destroyer III, is one of two reel seats chosen as an option for this stick.

 

Sensitivity: From the wobbling action of the 1/8 ounce sized Speedtrap to the vibrating motion of the Bullet Shad Mini to the subtle pickups of finesse worms, the Hien Type-S transmits it all and does it surprisingly well. I thought the soft tip of this stick might impede the rod's sensitivity, and I still have a difficult time getting my head around the idea of this stick as a jig and plastics rod, but each time I put it to the test, it met the challenge straight on. So much so that I use this stick more for shakey heads now, than I do cranks!

 

Typical of a finesse stick, the Hien Type-S features a very thin blank
 

Next Section: Let's talk Power


 

 

 

 

Google
  Web
  TackleTour

 

 

 
 





 

 



Copyright © 2000-2014 TackleTour LLC All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy information.